Are you “Checking In” using Foursquare?

May 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm | Posted in Blog, Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Being new to using Foursquare, I figure I’d give you a brief ‘bit of information surrounding the latest, twitter-catching piece of social media.

Once you sign-up you will be able to connect friends from Twitter and Facebook and able to see who is using Foursquare. If you’re using Foursquare, you can install the application to your smart phone.  If your using, like me, an iPhone it’ll quickly locate where you are added by others.

While at a location you will “check-in” telling people where you are, specials, and what you’re doing. Checking in repeatedly at any one location will earn you badges, the role of mayor and so on. Think twitter (immediate updates, sometimes including one’s location) meets Facebook (games & engaging others.)

Badges are awarded for checking in at any location and the role and responsibility of mayor is awarded to the person who has checked in the most amounts of times in one location. Responsibilities of being mayor include meeting new people who check in at that location too! Not so bad, the pay is zero though!

I found an interesting piece of info about this new social media piece…a 15 year old boy wanted to check in at the North Pole over his spring break. He was the first person to check in there-wonder why? He made it. Capturing his journey on Facebook and Twitter. What I can gather from that is that social media is taking people and businesses to unthinkable new places.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hope they make that lad a north pole foursquare badge! The whole badges thing reminds me of brownies! I’m not totally sold to the idea of foursquare yet…I think it’ll be a grower though.

    • I’m just getting the hang of it too. I hear ya on the whole brownies thing. You should try it though.

  2. Happy to say you were with me on my first foursquare excursion, my beautiful friend! I’d been hearing about it for a while but I guess needed to witness it first hand … When I saw you checking in at the wine tasting, it won me over!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

