Word of Mouth May 26 – Kelly Koepke Guest Blog

May 26, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in Blog | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,
Hamptons Creative Group - Word of Mouth Blog

Word of Mouth – May 26, 2011

Kelly Koepke Guest Blog

This month’s guest blogger is Kelly Koepke, our Sorceress of Syntax who helps us put together our own materials and those of our clients. The topic of her post this month about sharing and collaboration, and how it all works for her. (We missed her during her two weeks in South America.)


How It Works for Me – Sharing Leads to Collaboration
I write stuff for a living — like blogs — as well as newsletters, press releases and websites.

Stuff that other people take credit for. I have zero problem with that. That’s why I write stuff. I use my ability to put words together to connect my need to eat with other people’s need to communicate. Sometimes I write stories for magazines and newspapers, too. Those stories have my name on them.

That’s how it works for me.

I’m writing this as I’m about to leave for a trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. You’re reading it after I’m back. Because, I write stuff on a flexible schedule that meets the needs of my clients. I’m away, and they’re still sending their blogs, newsletters and press releases on their schedule.

That’s how it works for them.You can read more about this trip to see the giant tortoises, blue-footed boobies and marine iguanas in a national newspaper soon. See, I turned down a writing assignment that would have been due during my time away. When I shared with the editors why I couldn’t do the work for them this time, they connected the dots between me, my trip and their audience.

Now I have the good fortune to tell their readers about my experiences, and show them the pictures. That’s how it works for them.

How does it work for you?
Do your customers know the good stuff happening with you and your business? Your success stories may not seem exciting to you because you lived them. To your customers, they are the foundation of your communication with them – sharing, collaboration, and knowing how it all works for you.


Kelly Koepke is a writer, public relations and communications consultant based in Albuquerque, NM. She helps solo-preneurs and small businesses better communicate with their potential and current customers and the media.

Visit kellykoepke.com. She’s also on Facebook.


Plan on Learning More

Hamptons Creative Group is presenting “Making Social Media Digestible” at the North Fork Chamber of Commerce Early Bird Marketing Breakfast on June 2nd. Please plan to join us!

Find full details and reserve space for you and members of your business here.

SUBSCRIBE TO HAMPTONS CREATIVE GROUP BLOG HERE

Hamptons Creative Group

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

